WGS Council

WGS Council

Women's and Gender Studies Council

The purpose of the Women's and Gender Studies Council is to advise the Coordinator about the Women's and Gender Studies Program and to establish policy. It consists of at least eleven members, including the Coordinator. Women's and Gender Studies Council members can be any faculty or staff member of the Rowan University community interested in strengthening and expanding the Women's and Gender Studies Program on this campus.

The WGS Council is convened and presided over by the Coordinator of the Women's and Gender Studies Program. It meets at least two times per semester during the academic year, and every member is required to serve on at least one standing committee.  The term of service is three academic years with the possibility of being elected for a second consecutive term. A third term can only be served if there is a disruption in service between the second and third term. 

Women’s and Gender Studies Coordinator:

Dr. Melissa R. Klapper (History)

Women’s and Gender Studies Council Members

Terms expiring 2018:

  • Allison Carter (Sociology)
  • Andrew Hottle (Art)
  • Maria Lanza-Gladney (Center for Access, Success, and Equity)
  • Joel Rudin (Management and Entrepreneurship)
  • Natalie Schell-Busey (Law & Justice Studies)
  • Dawn Singleton (Educational Opportunity Fund Program)
  • Timothy Vaden (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

Terms expiring 2020:

  • Dawn Bazemore (Theatre & Dance)
  • Sara Borden (Campbell Library & University Archives)
  • Stacey Callaway (Sociology)
  • Ashley Pattwell (Public Relations & Advertising)
  • Tiffany Samsel (Law & Justice Studies)